Completed Atlas Pages

About FNJP Personnel

FNJP Members Photo by Bill Olson

The Flora of New Jersey Project was started in 2004 by field botanists who saw the need for a modern state flora. We are a loose confederation of regional botanists from all corners of the state and beyond. The project is a volunteer effort and labor of love for New Jersey’s wild flora.  The Flora of New Jersey Project is a New Jersey Non-Profit Corporation.  The project has federal Section 501 (c) 3 non-profit status and was formed for the study and documentation of New Jersey’s flora.

Our effort has been encouraged by various institutions, including Rutgers University Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, the Department of Plant Biology and Pathology, and Chrysler Herbarium of Rutgers University. Our home is the Chrysler Herbarium, where we hold our yearly general meetings.  We encourage interested botanists to become involved as a contributors or volunteers.

Contact the Flora of New Jersey Project

Mailing Address
Flora of New Jersey Project, Inc.
961 Clark Avenue
Franklinville, NJ 08322

Officers of Executive Board

Joe Arsenault, Chairperson

Vacant, Vice Chair
E-mail: tba

Acting Secretary, tba, Bill Olson passed away 2016

Wayne J. Ferren Jr., Acting Treasurer, E-mail:

Our Standing Committees

TBA, Formerly Bill Olson, Chair of the Nomenclature Committee

Matt Palmer, Chair of the Atlas; Acting Chair of the Internet Technologies (Web) Committee

Wayne Ferren, Chair of the Manual Committee

Joe Arsenault, Acting Chair of the Education and Outreach Committee, E-mail:;


The Flora of New Jersey Project wishes to acknowledge the efforts provided to make our venture possible. 

Our first web iteration, Version 1.0, was developed by Janet Novak. It was upon Janet’s original web design that we developed version 2.0.  Without Janet’s dedication and skills, our project would not be where we are today. 

Version 2.0 was developed by Bobbie Hall and Sandy Pikulski from Solvit.  The Flora is in debt to both Bobbie and Sandy for their patience, effort and a great final product.

A heart felt thank you is extended to all of our contributors and our patrons without whom this project would not be possible.

Photo above: Front Row left to right – Robin Jess, Ted Gordon, Joe Arsenault, Dr. David Fairbrothers (deceased), Janet Novak, Eleanor Standaert, Dr. Walt Bien; Top row: Wayne Ferren, Jr., Russell Juelg, Dr. Matt Palmer, Bill Olson, Bill Standaert